Completed: Google Android Robot


I have finally completed the Google Android Robot that I have promised to make for my cousin brother as his birthday present.

At first glance, the pattern seems manageable but once I started, it was not as simple as I have anticipated. In fact, this project seems to have been started on the wrong footing, beginning with me purchasing the wrong yarn colour and wrong eye size (that explains the Android’s slitted eyes).

Next was the crocheting process. The arms had to be started with a four single crochet round. This was no easy task as I am using a 1.75mm crochet hook (a very very small hook for those of you who are not familiar with crochet hooks). Instead of a magic ring, I had to use the Chain 2 technique instead to start off. Same goes with the tiny legs.

Frankly, I had nearly given up on making this but promises are made to be kept. I toughed it up and completed it. Regretfully though, I do not think that I will be making another Android robot in the near future. Perhaps when my crocheting skills are more polished and refined.

Below are more photos of my Google Android Robot endeavour. Enjoy!

 Ish, my fingers are still sore from sewing together the Android parts. But oh well, it was a learning experience and a challenging one at that.

Credits: The Google Android Robot logo belongs to Google Inc. The amigurumi pattern is from Bethany Scofield.

Till the next project. xoxo

Leave a Reply

