Completed: Bashful Starfish

For the past week, I have been busy with testing out a starfish pattern for Nett from Vintage Nettles. This is my first time being a pattern tester so needless to say, I was quite excited when Nett accepted me as one of her pattern testers.

(Pattern testers are people who basically “test” patterns for pattern designers as a form of “quality control”.)

The starfish pattern was quite straightforward. I thought it would be “quite impossible” to crochet the sides but given the clear instructions in the pattern, I managed to do it. *jumps with joy* This just goes to show my inexperience in crocheting amigurumis.

I did manage to learn (or re-learn) some important lessons through this stint of pattern testing. First, of course would be to follow instructions. When making the first starfish (I had actually made two starfishes if you continue scrolling down to the photos below), I had somehow managed to overlook the 3mm crochet hook requirement. This was a “problem” because Nett wanted the yardage (amount of yarn used) for a starfish crocheted using a 3mm hook and I had used my trusty old 1.75mm.

Luckily I managed to secure a 3mm hook to crochet a second starfish as per Nett’s requirements.

And because I had to record and calculate the yardage, now I finally know how many centimetres is equal to a yard. Answer: 1 yard = 91.44 cm. Now, who says you don’t learn anything through crocheting?

If you ever EVER read this, THANK YOU so much for letting me test your awesome Bashful Starfish pattern, Nett. And also for your patience and guidance, I have learnt much. Oh and I wished I had your embroidery skills.

More photos of the starfishes and link to the pattern below (if you want to try it too).

The two sides of the starfish before being stitched together

The “other” side of the starfish

The 2nd starfish I crocheted using a 3mm hook.

Note the bigger and the smaller starfish.

Credits: Many thanks to Nett for the Bashful Starfish pattern!

Till the next project. xoxo

3 thoughts on “Completed: Bashful Starfish

  1. Awww! I love your WIP shots and the two starfish together at the end. OH MY SO ADORABLE!!!

    ThankYOU for testing! 😀 I’m addicted to testing myself, I must admit, so its been hard for me to not sign up for tests while I’m designing a slew of new things which must go for testing themselves.

    Thankyou again for testing, and for such good shots and info! 😀

    • Thank you for visiting! It was a pleasure testing the starfish pattern for you. And I am so grateful that you were so patient with me. 😀

      I look forward to being a pattern-tester for you again should the opportunity comes. But of course, I’ll make sure I read and understand the requirements like maybe 1000x before I sign up. 😛

      Do drop by again if you can.

Leave a Reply

