Travel: Big Knit Cafe in Bangkok, Thailand

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own and I have not been paid or rewarded in any form to write this blog post. All the links provided here are accurate at the time of posting and should be used at your own discretion. I would not accept any responsibility should anything untoward occur due to your usage or reliance on the information provided here.

IMG_20140617_233715

While browsing on Instagram, I noticed that there are a lot of amigurumi crafters who are from Thailand. In fact, the first physical amigurumi which I saw and touched personally was purchased for me by my mom in Thailand. So when we were planning for a vacation in Bangkok, I knew I had to visit at least one local yarn store while I was there.

One particular yarn store which I had read about online and was quite keen to visit was Big Knit Cafe. Apparently, it is a yarn store (of course!) which also doubles up as a cafe whereby you can order drinks and food to have while you work on your crafty projects (God forbid that you should spill any drinks on your work-in-progress :P).

So, armed with some written directions which I got from Google and a printed map from Big Knit Cafe’s website, we made our way to find the yarn store. Well, we got lost a few times (as expected) but thanks to the pointers we got from the locals, we managed to find it.

I immediately fell in love with the ambiance at Big Knit Cafe when I walked into the store. Upon entry, there were delicious-looking pastries on display and the whole set up was really crafty with many many plush-sized amigurumi lying around and also rain drops made from felt decorating the lights.

Of course I was more interested in the yarn section. There were a few customers learning knitting at the big work table and to my surprise, one of the staff teaching knitting was a guy! So who said knitting and crocheting are for women only?

Most of the yarns on sale there were imported and novelty yarns so I was a bit disappointed with the selection as such yarns were naturally more pricey than the local yarns. Plus, I was actually looking to try out some local yarn but sadly, these couldn’t be found at Big Knit Cafe.

All in all, I was happy with my trip to Big Knit Cafe although I didn’t find any local yarn (I still couldn’t resist purchasing two skeins of yarn from them though). My final verdict on Big Knit Cafe would be that it is still worth visiting for the “experience” and if it is novelty and imported yarns you’re looking for, then Big Knit Cafe is your place.

(I cannot comment on the pricing of the yarns in Big Knit Cafe as I have not purchased the yarn equivalents to those available there before and therefore do not have a benchmark to compare pricing against.)

Before I end this post, here’s a recap of my visit to Big Knit Cafe.

  • As I have stated above, Big Knit Cafe sells mostly imported and novelty yarns so do not expect to find much local yarn there. (In fact, I do not recall seeing any local yarn but it could be due to the fact that I missed seeing the local yarn.)
  • If you intend to make a trip there, I would suggest taking a metered taxi there as Big Knit Cafe’s location is not in the main tourist areas and could be tricky to find especially if you are not good with maps. The rates for the metered taxis in Bangkok are reasonable so you do not need to worry about being over-charged when taking taxis. Of course, as a precaution, insist that the driver use the meter before you get into the taxi.
  • If you still prefer to take public transportation and subsequently walk to Big Knit Cafe, you can still do so but make sure that you get detailed directions beforehand on how to walk there from the BTS (ie train) station. I managed to get the detailed walking directions from Thong Lor BTS station to Big Knit Cafe from Google maps and the map available from Big Knit Cafe’s website.
  • It is advisable that you get have the address/name of landmarks printed in Thai as most locals do not understand English and unless the place which you intend to go is a popular tourist spot, then they would not know how to direct you there based on the English names of the places.

Here are the details on Big Knit Cafe:

Where > Big Knit Cafe, 88 The Natural Park Building (next to Dental Hospital), Sukhumvit 49.
Opening hours > Monday – Sunday from 9.00AM to 9.00PM
Websitewww.bigknit49.com
Directions > Map on Big Knit Cafe website, Directions on Google Maps

If you have any questions on visiting Big Knit Cafe, feel free to comment on this post or e-mail me at theamiproject@yahoo.com. I will do my best to help you out.

All the best with planning a visit to Big Knit Cafe if you’re going to Bangkok! 😀

Till the next project. xoxo

4 thoughts on “Travel: Big Knit Cafe in Bangkok, Thailand

    • Yes, the concept of this cafe/yarn store is really unique. Plus, it’s interesting to see all the big plushies lying around and other handmade (crocheted/knitted) decor in the cafe.

      P.S. Thank you for visiting my blog. 😀

Leave a Reply

