Events: WAU Handmade Art Market

Warning: This is going to be a long and photo-heavy post.

IMG_0047 (1)

Since becoming a regular visitor to craft bazaars, it has been a dream of mine to participate in one myself. The opportunity presented itself when a few months back, a friend told me that she was going to organise a craft bazaar and encouraged me to take part.

I was quite hesitant initially as I wasn’t sure if I was “ready” to do something this big when I was just in the midst of making plans to launch my little crochet shop. There were a lot of what ifs and doubts. Thankfully, my family members and friends were very supportive and with their encouragement, I decided to just do it.

The weeks leading to the bazaar were quite challenging as there were loads of things to prepare and I had to balance the time between my studies and my crafting activities. There were even times when I only slept for 5 hours and that one time, when I only slept for 2 hours. It was really tough, but at the same time rewarding.

Fast forward to the bazaar day.

We arrived at the venue pretty early to set up. It was really daunting to see those craft bazaar veterans doing their thing and then looking back at ourselves, feeling like lost sheep. In the end though, I thought we did a fairly decent job with our booth set up. What do you think?

IMG-20141115-WA0002 (1)

IMG-20141115-WA0004 (1)

IMG-20141115-WA0009 (1)

It was pretty exciting to meet all the people who came up to our booth. I had loads of fun chatting with them and exchanging our crafting and life experiences. The other vendors were really nice too! It felt good to be part of such an awesome crafting community.

A few friends dropped by our booth and it meant a lot that they came all the way to support us. Thank you Jacklyn, Stephanie and Samantha!

IMG_0029 (1)

We also met the craft blogger, Shia Lynn of The Artsy Craftsy and I got into fangirl mode and asked for a photo with her. 😛

IMG_0032 (1)

It was also fun to meet Christine Ko of Christine Ko’s Bakery again (I was previously introduced to her via another friend) and this amazing lady had managed to win a baking competition during the few months from when I last saw her. Check out her winning creation in the photo below!

IMG_0038 (1)

Overall, my first bazaar experience was a really good one. I am just so amazed that something that started off entirely as a hobby could have brought me to where I am today. Participating in a craft bazaar is definitely an achievement I am proud of and I can’t wait to see where my craft journey will take me to from here.

Before I end this post, here are the people to whom I would like to thank for having been through thick and thin with me throughout this wonderful journey.

Thank you to my family who has always been so supportive of my craft endeavours. They are the first people I go to for advice and trust me, they don’t mince their words. They deliver constructive criticisms in meat chunk pieces which I totally appreciate.

Thank you to my booth buddies and really good friends, Hazel Tan of Craftofus and Carr Ine for being such awesome craft partners! Without you girls, I doubt my bazaar experience would have turned out to be such a good one and honestly, I can’t ask for better booth buddies than you two. I know I can be pretty bossy at times so thank you for putting up with me.

To my friends who have dropped by the booth and to those who have offered moral support, thank you very much.

Much thanks to my friend, Winnie Lee of Partz And Puzzle for doing such a good job in organising the bazaar and for encouraging me to take part in the bazaar.

And last but not least, THANK YOU to all you strangers-turn-friends out there who have been really, really supportive of my crochet adventures! Thank you for dropping by the booth. Thank you for visiting my Facebook page and Instagram account. And of course, thank you for visiting and reading my blog.

This may be all for today but definitely it’s a start for more exciting things to come. I have loads of exciting ideas in the pipeline and I can’t wait to share them with you.

Till the next project. xoxo

One thought on “Events: WAU Handmade Art Market

Leave a Reply

